In Florida, DUI offenses carry increasing penalties, both criminal and administrative, with each subsequent conviction. Additionally, if convicted, auto insurance rates will sky rocket! If you face charges for driving under the influence a third time within ten years of your second conviction, you can face very severe penalties and be charged with a third degree felony, a conviction of which will stay with you for life and can make it harder to get a job, buy a home or car, and more. Here is a look at the charges you may face if you are convicted of a Florida third offense DUI within ten years of your second offense.
FLORIDA THIRD OFFENSE DUI SANCTIONS VARY BASED ON THE TIMING OF PRIOR CONVICTIONS
The penalties for a third offense DUI in Florida are more severe if the offense is within ten years of your prior convictions, but jail time and mandatory long-term license suspension or revocation are almost a sure bet if convicted. You will also likely be required to complete drug and alcohol treatment programs and will face a lifelong criminal record.
ADMINISTRATIVE PENALTIES FOR A FLORIDA THIRD OFFENSE DUI
If your third DUI conviction occurs within a decade of your prior conviction, you face a revocation of your driver’s license for a full ten years. It may be possible to have it reinstated on a limited, hardship basis after two years if you complete a DUI education program and get a recommendation from your Special Suspension Supervisor. In any case, an ignition interlock computer will be put on your car for two years after your license is reinstated. Your car will also be impounded for up to 90 days.
If it has been more than ten years, your license can be revoked for 6 months to a year. If it has been less than five years between your first two DUIs, your third will see your license suspended for five years. No matter how long it has been, you will have to complete a drug and alcohol treatment program before you get your license back.
If the circumstances of your DUI were severe enough, lifetime revocation of a driver’s license is possible at this stage.
FINES FOR A FLORIDA THIRD OFFENSE DUI
In addition to the more than $200 in fees for the DUI treatment program, you will face fines ranging from $1,000 up to $5,000, depending on how long it has been since your prior convictions. You likely will have to also pay a number of fees and court costs ranging from hundreds to over $1,000. An experienced criminal attorney can often save you more in monetary fines that what you pay as a criminal retainer.
JAIL TIME FOR A FLORIDA THIRD OFFENSE DUI
Jail time for a third offense DUI in Florida is severe. Mandatory jail time is a minimum of 30 days, 2 of which must be consecutive. Maximum jail time can range up to five years.
If you find yourself in a situation where you face a Florida third offense DUI, never try to handle defense yourself. Seek the services of a qualified DUI attorney. An attorney can help to get your charges reduced and will help you avoid costly mistakes. Make sure your rights are protected.
Our criminal defense attorneys include a former Judge and prosecutor and a lifetime criminal defense attorney. Together, the two have handled thousands of criminal matters, including every degree of misdemeanor and felony offense. They make a tremendous team and have achieved outstanding results for our clients (see results here) and they have received many awards and accolades from other attorneys and judges.